Newsletter events

Our Explorer Award Supporters

Photo: Frances Eyre Photography
Sir Charles Blois Explorer Award

Sir Charles Blois

Sir Charles Blois is a long-time friend and supporter of SES. His passion for travel and adventure is unquenchable and on a par with that of SES Founder Colonel John Blashford-Snell CBE who he hails as his inspiration.

Photo: Frances Eyre Photography
Elodie Sandford Explorer Award

Elodie Sandford Friends and Family

Family and friends have created the Elodie Sandford Explorer Award in memory of Elodie Sandford. Elodie was a highly regarded Honorary Vice-President of SES, a keen amateur photographer, and a participant in many of John Blashford-Snell’s expeditions.

Judith Heath Explorer Award

Judith Heath

The Judith Heath Explorer Award has been created in memory Judith Heath, a longstanding member of SES. Judith was a keen botanist and joined John Blashford-Snell on some of his expeditions.

Photo: Frances Eyre Photography
Neville Shulman Explorer Award

Neville Shulman

Neville Shulman CBE is an explorer, mountaineer, adventurer, author and long-time member and supporter of SES. He is personal consultant and advisor to film directors, producers and film studios and has a wide and varied interest in film, culture, the arts, and exploration.

Photo: Frances Eyre Photography
O'Hea Explorer Award

O'Hea Family Trust

The O’Hea Charitable Trust family has supported the Society and our SES Explorer Award for many years, and from 2024 are funding their own Explorer Award.

Photo: Frances Eyre Photography
SES Explorer Award

Rowan Bentall Charitable Trust, Coleridge Family, David Prichard, and SES Trustees.

The Rowan Bentall Charitable Trust, Coleridge Family, David Prichard, and SES Trustees are all committed and enthusiastic supporters of SES and have combined forces to create this special award.


Our Explorer Award Criteria

2024 Award Criteria
Scientific Exploration Society, Expedition Base, Motcombe, Shaftesbury, Dorset SP7 9PB +44 (0)1747 853353 
(Registered Charity No 267410)
Copyright © 2024

cross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram