Newsletter events

Team SES

We are a small but passionate team comprising a few part-time staff and a wonderful and committed community of volunteers.
Chief Executive Officer

Henrietta Thorpe

Henrietta (Hen) has spent much of her career in marketing, predominantly within the investment management industry. She was Marketing Director for Legg Mason and then joined Mercury Asset Management to manage their global online rebrand.

Since leaving London, she has provided freelance marketing services to various organisations. 

Hen joined SES as CEO in 2017.
Explorer Awards & Expeditions Manager

Nikki Skinner

Nikki studied Stage Management at the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School, and worked in theatre, taking on many roles, her favourite being prop maker and scenic artist. 

She discovered climbing and through this, started working within the outdoor industry, running a shop in the Lake District, representing brands as a rep, and working for Rab as a Marketing Manager.

Nikki joined SES in 2018.
Executive Secretary

Vicky Hankinson

Vicky spent her early career in marketing and business development, predominantly in the travel industry. 

Following this, she travelled the world for 25 years, focusing on fundraising for family welfare and child-orientated charities.

Vicky joined SES in 2018.

Finance & Membership

Gail Lloyd

Gail has a background in business management, working for large and small companies, and running her own successful small business. 

She has many years of experience as a volunteer in the financial management of several charities, including the Royal British Legion. She was involved in fundraising and community projects for those charities. 

Gail joined SES in 2012.

Exploration Revealed


Dr Alicia Colson, Alyssa Sargent, Briana Gervat, Briony Turner, Michael Murphy, Samantha Moore

Graphic Designer

Alex Kerridge

SES Volunteers

Frances Eyre, Ty Redif, Charlotte Austwick, Eleanor Drinkwater, Liv Grant, Greg Morrissey, Kirsten Braund, Eleanor Flatt, Joy Wiersum, Alexia Georgiou, James Perillo

Voluntary Advisors

Anthony Belchambers, Julia Thorold

Honorary Logistics Officer

Dave Smith 

Honorary Archivist and Film Trusts

Ros Wardall

Overseas Representatives

Econ Yolima Cipagauta (Latin America), Major General Joe Singh MSS, MSc (Guyana), Professor Terbish (Mongolia), Captain John Hinchliffe (Myanmar), Ato Solomon Behre (Ethiopia), Jill Weir (Canada)
Scientific Exploration Society, Expedition Base, Motcombe, Shaftesbury, Dorset SP7 9PB +44 (0)1747 853353 
(Registered Charity No 267410)
Copyright © 2024

cross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram